Who Knew?

Well, I’m sure many folks who have *actually* raised hogs knew this, but according to the literature I read hogs don’t hit puberty til 6 months….so if i planned to butcher the boars a 5 months we should be fine, right? Well I don’t know about you but those balls look pretty well developed to me:Image

When Rosie was delivered back to the farm from her time with her lover Gord mentioned it was time to separate….those boars looked awfully ready to mate. Well, indeed they were. After the reunion and a quick wallow in the mud, they tried getting some milk (no go) and since that didn’t work hopping on mom for…um, yeah. She wasn’t having it. So dispite the fact they had just reached 5 months of age in two weeks time everyone showed signs of sexual maturity.  But I suppose it is not just about age, but weight. the kids are all over 200 lbs. My nieces fair pig. Sweetheart, needs to be under 300 lbs for the August fair, but she is already 240. She is a beautiful beast, though. She would be a nicer breeder that the one I’m going to keep, Peppercorn, since she is so long, nice hams, awesome growth rate and shows signs of early sexual maturity. Peppercorn will be a nice, gentle mother and her rate of gain is nothing to scoff at either and she has a good build, too…but shes just not as promising as Sweetheart, Oh well!

DSC_3525

Unfortunately, the butcher hasn’t been able to fit me into his schedule, so this has resulted in shuffling girls in heat around to avoid the boars, but i still have some holes in my fences. I did finish fencing the stream-side…okay, not totally finish since i need a few more lines for the sheeps sake, but pig wise we are good to go on that side. Next, I need to run a few more line up in the woods to keep them inside my boundries there. This will be more difficult since it involves lots of rugged terrain and trees and such. Oh, and driving posts into rocks will not be fun.

DSC_3557 DSC_3559

I got all sorts of differing opinions on the distance i should have my wires. I decided 6 inches, though recommended for hogs, usually just gets dirt/grass rolled over it and shorts out so I opted to go 8 inches. Maybe I should have gone a little closer with the next wires, but iIhad such a range of opinions on what the distance “should” be I opted to go 8-16-24-36-48 inches. Looking into more literature I shouldn’t have bothered with t-posts and just stuck with more wooden posts. oh well. I have a wooden brace about every 100 yards. We should be okay. One problem we will have to deal with was being dumb and trying to reuse an old corner post the old one is not in great shape….or perfectly aligned with the new fence (what happened there?!)

The streamside is now protected and I will be able to plant an orchard and other native and soil stabilizing bushes there. I can also lock the sheep up there when I need it mowed down. Possibly I can allow for the pigs to graze there in the winter when the stream is running high and the water is cold. This time of year they can just walk across and meet the neighbors….or the highway. We have taken care of that problem. Soon we will work on additional pastures then be able to rotationally graze the animals. It is all very exciting.

Overall I’m happy with how this is all working out.

Leave a Reply

