Something Offal

I’m not big on organ meat and the last time I had liver it was pretty terrible. But I don’t want to waste my boys so my mom cooked up the pig liver (2 pigs yielded 10-15 lbs!) assuring me it would be better than beef.

 

It was. It was almost….tasty. The liver after-taste was so mild and I could feel the fat melting on my tongue. On the side he had home grown turnips and turnip greens. 70% of my meal was grown at my place. Makes me feel pretty good to be able to provide food for me AND my family.

They say it takes a few times of trying something to like a new flavor. I think eventually I will really like pig liver. Maybe next time I will scarf it down. In the mean time….anyone want some liver? I still have a couple pounds.

Leave a Reply

