Dead Ram Walking

Its no secret that Khoresh is getting more and more aggressive. I’ve tried humane and not-so-humane methods of turning his behavior around. As it is he respects me and doesn’t mess with me. He knows I’m boss. But others…

Image

He is still causing trouble. He was jumping over the fence to reach the lamb ewes. Thought more separation, another 10 inches in height on the fence and the mask would help.

Image

Nope. Turned out he was jumping though the fence…wooly coat was insulating him so if he just ran fast enough he could get through with only a mild jolt. I made the lines a bit spaced for quick installation now I need to go in and double up (that was the plan for year 2) So I figured the lamb ewes were bred so I put everyone in one big group again assuming that would solve the problem. Sort of?

Khoresh also beat the heck out of the pigs…they all started limping one day and I didn’t know why. He was doing this while I was away at work, so I didn’t know what was up. Just one day Rosie wouldn’t get up for breakfast.  I fed her breakfast in bed by bringing her feed bowl to her. Eventually she got up and I saw her limping.  She was finally healing up and on Tuesday I was about to leave for work when I saw him the pasture with the pigs. They were in the way back not bothering him, but he got through the fence and walked back to them. When I went out he was just chillin’ with them, though Rosie was trying to carefully get away. He noticed and started stalking her. I got him back out of the pasture and went to work. Came home and everyone was limping.

He is done for.

DSCN2555

This is where we are at: he is on a leash tied to a post. That post was solid in the ground until he started head butting it and *was* my laundry line…but in butting the post he snapped the line. He’s knocked over almost every fence post that doesn’t have a fence attached to it. Some are 8 inches in diameter, three feet in the ground in CONCRETE. Hes knocked them over.

Incredible destructive power. I can understand why invading armies used a “battering ram.”

So at this point with him being destructive as he is and harrassing the pigs who arn’t even paying him any mind its time to slaughter. I was going to do this a few weeks ago but a few close people cried out, “no! hes so pretty! lovely! can’t you sell him? You don’t have time to do it yourself. You’ve never done it before, call the butcher.” Turns out the butchers busy with hunting season.  and yes, I am busy, but then I found out about the pigs. Now I don’t even feel comfortable selling him. Aggression is often genetic and he comes from a Jacob line that becomes aggressive from what I hear (Puddleduck). Though his damn was gentle, this trait is just too strong in him. I don’t want to spread aggressive genes to someone else.

The *only* option is slaughter.

2 thoughts on “Dead Ram Walking

  1. Just another day on the farm

    You know that you are doing the right thing there, yup, time for freezer camp buddy! wow, suddenly makes me so glad that my ram is as gentle as he is, he is such a good boy, maybe, for two weeks of the year, you need to walk with a stick or a bucket and if he looks at your crosswise, you just shake it at him and he backs right off, and the other 50 weeks of the year, total sweetheart with no issues at all. I know that if my ram started hurting me pigs, that would be the end of it!

    Reply
    1. erikamay85 Post author

      Hes fine with humans…just the pigs! He’s very respectful of me, but oh well. I had a hard time doing it this weekend after my neighbor came over and cried about it. *sigh* my sister will come out and give me a hand next weekend.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

