Fall Chicken Crop: Week 1

 

 

I’m doing a fall batch of meat chickens. My first batch of 10 was pretty good, though i lost one to ?? as a day old chick, one my dog killed and another over ate. So…about a 70% success rate my first go round with Cornish Cross. Ohh, but they were deeelish. So I’m doing another batch hoping to make a meager amount of money on them.

 

Tractoring them in the grass worked well. I built a hover brooder that fit in the tractor and it worked out. Same concept, only twice as many birds!

DSCN0801

Day-Old Chicks

The day olds had just little fluffy feathers, healthy happy things that went into the tractor fine. I had a few jump here and there, in my lap, back in the box, ect. Good energy!

DSCN0810

 

 

DSCN0812

 

 

   By day 4 they started developing little feathers on their wings. 20 killed the 2 cups of feed in a few hours.

DSCN0827

 

By a week old they’ve got some good feathering on their wings and tail feathers are coming in.

DSCN0825

DSCN0826

 

You can see how big they are already getting compared to my foot! I keep their feed restricted because they can over eat and grow too damn fast.

DSCN0828

Still using last years tractor.

 

DSCN0829

I let the chicks out in the morning and evening for a little supervised exercise. So far so good!

Leave a Reply

