Quick Thougths on Sustainability

I am not sustainable.

Or at least, my farm is not whole self sustainable. My woods were not enough to feed my pigs or sheep and the overall health of my forest was waning so I cut it down and am starting over. It will take a long time for for the forest to become a forest again. Thus, 10 acres of unproductive land. I am planting native conifers along with fruit and nut trees again. The fruit trees will yeld the soonest, nut trees should feed my imaginary grandchildren. I will try to terrace a small part and create a small plot that is a source of feed for sheep, pigs and humans (planting grasses and fruit trees) but until these dreams occur….

I am not sustainable.

I have to purchase hay for the sheep until my pasture comes back from the traima of logging. Truck in grain for my pigs…the worst offense

This was not the plan…but its the easiest. its easy to lock up the pigs and throw food at them and watch them grow. I have to challenge myself to work on creating an ecosystem that doesn’t deplete the soil but improves it.

I spent my first 2 years here learning how to care for animals without killing everyone. Mission accomplished! Now I need to challenge myself: how do I create a farm that provides the majority of everyones feed needs? Well, step one is probably cutting back the number of animals. Two: fencing fencing fencing. it lets me move animals to new spaces where they can forage for food. ThreeL research, experiement and change. Always look for new ways of farming. There is no one right way to farm. one must always be looking for something new or risk stagnation.

Me? its tempting to set up a system of stagnant pens and cycling pigs through after throwing food at them for 6 months. but thats not sustainable for the ecosystem or the pocket book.

Change better be coming soon.

3 thoughts on “Quick Thougths on Sustainability

  1. Kade

    Its a sobering thought when one realizes this truth …. imagine how the world would transform if ALL people came to the same realization and took action to be individually sustainable.

    Reply
    1. erikamay85 Post author

      But becoming sustainable is a process. One doesn’t just show up, throw animals out in the feild and call it good. Being able to rotate pastures improves grass desnity, carbon seqestration and reduces worm loads. Pigs could be self sustainable on low numbers. i am currently choosing to produce more pigs in hopes of profit to help make the rest of the place function like i want it to then cut back.
      its a process and eventuallyt his place can provide alot but its going to take a loooong time. one reason who farmers farmed with their grandchildren in mind, We don’t stay on the same property for generations anymore so we no longer thing about planting trees for the sake of generations to come. its a struggle because i know this place isn’t going to stay in my family forever so why not just raid and pillage the place for my sake? not good. not a good mindset.

      Reply
  2. Just Plain Marie

    My goodness, although I preach “self-sufficiency” constantly, it takes YEARS to reach that point with a farm – and even then, I think it takes interconnected farms in a small, self-sufficient community. Not something you can do alone in two years.

    Everything we do, we look around and wonder what will happen when our four children are big enough and taking over.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

