Cold Morning Hot Chicks

image

I’ve been mixing my own feed for my girls and in the summer I ferment it before feeding. Supposedly more nutritious/digestible/ less food goes father. I don’t feed very much since my girls free range… Only 2-3 wet lbs a day between 11 chickens and 3 ducks. A 150 lb batch is lasting 2 months between the ducks and chickens.

Ah, but it’s cold. Today I gave them a treat since everyone is acting so ravenous: hot mash. With this weather I may switch to hot mash until the weather gets above freezing so they don’t waste the energy warming up the cold grain in their guts. Nothing like a hot meal on a cold day…

image

Leave a Reply

