The Winter Chick

I had a hen go broody but some eggs were duds, she kicked a few of of the nest. Didn’t seem to be working. I was baking Christmas cookies after work and needed some eggs so I went out to grab some and checked on the broody on the way out.

There was a dead, cold wet chick on the floor and another almost dead under the hen. The flooding had reached her nest and the straw was damp. Time to act.

I grabbed chickie and brought it in and placed it by the fire

image

Soon it began to dry out, fluff up and start talking.

image

Within an hour it was up. I grabbed a brooder box and set it up with a light. I attempted to save the other chick but I was too late.

image

A week later Nugget is doing great. A little lonely, but I give it some time every day. Hopefully it will bond with me.

And the broody? She gave up on having kids and has gone back to laying.

Leave a Reply

